#1 Fall Winter 2010 Paris, Milan, New York, London


I am writing this upon the realisation that I have not REALLY written anything mag worthy in ages. (Pics included so just click click continue…)

This freaks me out, because potential boss (you know who you are), could stumble upon this tiny corner in the matrix, and think: “Gees, there is no way that I am going to give this kid a shot. She doesn’t even know how to write”.

That being said, here is what I would like to call ‘the run-down’ on what has been gathered from the New York, London, Milan, and Paris (in no particular order) runways. And as a synthesis, I dare say that the fall runway was sombre. Sombre!

A small teeny weeny part of me wished that there could have been more colour (hides behind Balenciaga, Proenza Schouler, Louis Vuitton, Dolce & Gabbana, Preen, Versace, Marni, and Prada models). What? I still think that it was really grey!

Look we have 3 months of winter in SA, not so? I am right now enjoying summer, but I want to just be immersed in coats, polka dots, and animal prints.

FW10, Think: Stepford Wives meets Mona Lisa Smile.  Modesty.  Femininity.  Yes Curves, but solemnly and ironically, an existence of Feminism, doing the tango with male chauvinism… This Fall Winter female seems to be a whole lot more than just 2 dimensional. Could we even go so far as to say she is a 4D woman existing and thriving in a 3D world?

Curves:

I want to quote “Nina’s Closet” and say that these designers made clothes that would have made the girls with the big bums look amazing.

Miuiccia Prada (Doutzen Kroes as model), Louis Vuitton (models: Rosie Huntington, Coco Rocha, Jessica Stam, Elle Macpherson, Laetitia Casta), Hermes (Model: Lilly Cole), Giles Deacon (Model: Jessica Stam), Loewe (Model: Angela Lindvall), Nina Ricci dare I say, I might someday garner the bravery to wear a leather dress.

All windows and doors of opportunity must be used darling. and I am even more happy that Guillotine (egads! SA Designer) made some leather (non-dominatrix) pieces. I am learning more and more that SAFASHION is not as vapid or exceptionally banal that I once thought that it was.

Be sure that I shall now endevour to give a daily rundown of the many amazing trends that could be seen on those awsome runways. Nos vemos, hasta luego, chao, y que tenga un buen dia!

Leave a Reply

